Givin' It That - The Album Collection - 10 CD Album Book Set

Givin' It That - The Album Collection - 10 CD Album Book Set

£68.00 GBP was

Release Date: 8th November 2019

The whole of the UK mourned when Chas Hodges passed away in September 2018, and the parade of stars (including Eric Clapton, Joe Brown, Gary Brooker and Albert Lee who performed at the tribute concert in December that year is testament to the regard in which Chas and his musical partner Dave Peacock are held.

This ten CD deluxe album style set includes all nine of their original albums , gathered together in one package for the first time ever : One Fing ‘n’ Anuvver (1975), Rockney (1977), Don’t Give A Monkey’s...(1979, and now featuring the four extra tracks on the 7” EP included with the initial pressing), Mustn’t Grumble (1981), Job Lot (1982), Well Pleased (1984), Flying (1987), That’s What Happens (2013), and A Little Bit Of Us (2018).

Across 107 tracks , these albums feature their hit singles "Gertcha", "Sideboard Song", "Rabbit", "Ain’t No Pleasing You", "Margate" and "London Girls".

The tenth disc is a 21 track CD of rarities, many either previously unreleased or very rare. These include the previously unreleased very first two Chas & Dave recordings from May 1973, rare B sides and demos from the "One Fing 'n' Anuvver" period, a previously unreleased live track recorded in a Docklands pub in 1977, the rare original versions of "Gertcha" and "Sideboard Song", and two rare B sides on CD for the first time ("It's Only The B side" and "Sunday") from 1979. The CD ends with the duo’s cover of The Beatles’ "You Won’t See Me" with guest vocals from Lonnie Donegan, and the poignant "When Days Were Long (But Far Too Short)".

The 32 page booklet contains all the credits , as well as photos and memorabilia , including the original handwritten lyrics for "Rabbit" and "Sideboard Song" amongst others, and a 5400 word note by Alan Robinson.

CD1. One Fing 'n' Anuvver

  1. Ponders End Allotments Club
  2. Better Get Your Shoes On
  3. Dry Party
  4. Ballad Of The Rich
  5. Deceived
  6. One Fing ‘n’ Anuvver
  7. It’s So Very Hard
  8. Woortcha!
  9. I Am A Rocker
  10. Old Time Song
  11. Old Dog And Me

CD2. Rockney

  1. That's What It's All About
  2. Big Fat Rat
  3. Strummin'
  4. Love & Days Gone By
  5. Punchy & The Willer Warbler
  6. Massage Parlour
  7. Billy Tyler
  8. Edmonton Green
  9. I'm In Trouble
  10. Sling Your Hook

CD3. Don't Give A Monkey's...

  1. Gertcha
  2. Rabbit
  3. The Banging In Your Head
  4. Got My Beer In The Sideboard Here
  5. What A Miserable Saturday Night
  6. Pay Up And Look Big
  7. Lunatic Asylum
  8. Who D'Ya Think You're Talking To?
  9. I Am A Rocker
  10. Scruffy Old *!*?*
  11. Send Me Some Lovin’
  12. Breathless
  13. Sunshine Of Your Smile
  14. I Get The Blues When It Rains

CD4. Musn't Grumble

  1. Poor Old Mr Woogie
  2. Bored Stiff
  3. Don't Anyone Speak English?
  4. Turn That Noise Down!
  5. Beer Belly
  6. Behave Yourself
  7. Ain't No Pleasing You
  8. I Miss Ya Girl
  9. Lonnie D.
  10. Wallop!
  11. Rabbit

CD5. Job Lot

  1. That Old Piano
  2. That's What I Like
  3. London Girls
  4. Give It Some Stick, Mick
  5. No-Body
  6. Flying [instrumental]
  7. Margate
  8. Mustn't Grumble
  9. Word From Anne
  10. Stop Dreaming
  11. Give It Gavotte
  12. Wish I Could Write A Love Song

CD6. Well Pleased

  1. There In Your Eyes
  2. They Kept On Rocking
  3. Did I Feel A Fool
  4. Snake Eyes Bert
  5. Where Am I Gonna Find Ya?
  6. I Wonder In Whose Arms ...
  7. Jumpin' The Lights
  8. I'm Going Back
  9. Harry Was A Champion
  10. One O’ Them Days
  11. Brother-In-Law

CD7. Flying

  1. England
  2. Punchinello
  3. Sunday
  4. Darlin' I Don't Care
  5. Diddle-Umma Day
  6. Flying
  7. Exhibition Rag
  8. I Can Get Along Without You
  9. That Telephone Thing
  10. Back In The Soul Days
  11. Miss You All The Time

CD8. That's What Happens

  1. Railroad Bill
  2. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  3. When Two Worlds Collide
  4. Lonnie D. [acoustic version]
  5. Glory Of Love
  6. Right String Baby
  7. Pretty Baby
  8. Look At Me
  9. Rocking Gloworm
  10. Better Get Your Shoes On [acoustic version]
  11. San Francisco Bay Blues
  12. Ain’t No Pleasing You [acoustic version]
  13. Midnight Special
  14. All By Myself

CD9. A Little Bit Of Us

  1. A Little Bit Of Me
  2. Come On Charlie
  3. When You Wore A Tulip
  4. Wonder Where He Is Now
  5. Nagasaki
  6. Dry Bones
  7. Nothing You Can Do
  8. Modern Robin Hood
  9. Last Kiss
  10. My Little Grass Shack
  11. Roses Of Picardy
  12. Sling Your Hook
  13. Why Not Me?

CD10: A Bonus Disc Of Rarities

  1. Better Get A Move On
  2. Hot Damn Home Made Wine
  3. Come Up And See Me Anytime [by The Oily Rags]
  4. Scruffy Old Cow
  5. Lazy Cow
  6. Gambler
  7. If I Could Only Play Like That [demo]
  8. Mama And Papa Jazz [demo]
  9. Clive Of India [demo]
  10. Strummin’ [demo]
  11. Pay Up And Look Big [live at the Essex Arms, Canning Town]
  12. Gertcha [original version]
  13. Sideboard Song [original version]
  14. It’s Only The B-Side
  15. Sunday
  16. Melancholy Baby
  17. In Sickness And In Health [theme tune]
  18. You’re Just In Love
  19. Halley’s Comet
  20. You Won’t See Me [with Lonnie Donegan]
  21. When Days Were Long (But Far Too Short)